Dog Point Vineyard Sauvignon Blanc 2011

Sauvignon Blanc from New Zealand

Price: $22.00 $17.99
Save $4.01 (18%)
Sold Out
The 2013 vintage is available for: $17.99
1
  • 1
  • 2
  • 3
  • 4
  • 5
  • 6
  • 7
  • 8
  • 9
  • 10
  • 11
  • 12
  • 13
  • 14
  • 15
  • 16
  • 17
  • 18
  • 19
  • 20
  • 21
  • 22
  • 23
  • 24
  • 25
  • 26
  • 27
  • 28
  • 29
  • 30
  • 31
  • 32
  • 33
  • 34
  • 35
  • 36
  • 37
  • 38
  • 39
  • 40
  • 41
  • 42
  • 43
  • 44
  • 45
  • 46
  • 47
  • 48
  • 49
  • 50
  • 51
  • 52
  • 53
  • 54
  • 55
  • 56
  • 57
  • 58
  • 59
  • 60
  • 61
  • 62
  • 63
  • 64
  • 65
  • 66
  • 67
  • 68
  • 69
  • 70
  • 71
  • 72
  • 73
  • 74
  • 75
  • 76
  • 77
  • 78
  • 79
  • 80
  • 81
  • 82
  • 83
  • 84
  • 85
  • 86
  • 87
  • 88
  • 89
  • 90
  • 91
  • 92
  • 93
  • 94
  • 95
  • 96
  • 97
  • 98
  • 99
  • 100
  • 101
  • 102
  • 103
  • 104
  • 105
  • 106
  • 107
  • 108
  • 109
  • 110
  • 111
  • 112
  • 113
  • 114
  • 115
  • 116
  • 117
  • 118
  • 119
  • 120
Buy Now
Item No. 116586
  • WE93
  • RP90
Style: Fruity & Smooth

Wine Style Guide

Light & Crisp

Light to medium bodied wines that are high in acid and light to medium fruit. Typically no oak.

Fruity & Smooth

Light to medium bodied wines with lots of juicy fruit, typically medium acid and medium oak.

Rich & Creamy

Full bodied wines that have typically undergone malo-lactic fermentation and/or spent time in oak.

Alcohol By Volume: 13.5%

Alcohol By Volume Guide

  • 10%
  • 16+%
Most wine ranges from 10-16% alcohol by volume. Some varietals tend to have higher (for example Zinfandel and Cabernet Sauvignon) or lower alcohol levels (Pinot Noir and many white varietals), but there is always some variation from producer to producer. Some wine falls outside of this range, for instance Port weighs in closer to 20%, while Muscat and Riesling are usually a bit below 10%.
Ratings Pedigree:
show more

Winemaker's Notes

The 2011 Dog Point Sauvignon Blanc is a straw green color, with a fresh, intensely concentrated aromas of tropical fruits infused with ripe citrus notes, complemented by lifted hints of lemongrass and passionfruit. It has a fine texture and acidity, with a degree of minerality and a lasting, refreshingly crisp finish on the palate. This wine is a perfect match with white meats, pale cheeses and seafood (especially oysters and scallops).

Critical Acclaim

"Complex on the nose and richly textured in the mouth, this wine delivers it all. Hints of struck flint and wild onion accent grapefruit aromas, while the flavors range easily from pink grapefruit and red currant to delicate herb shadings. It’s full without being too full, with a potent yet refreshing finish that seemingly lingers forever."
93 Points

"The 2011 Sauvignon Blanc gives notes of pink grapefruit, apples and orange blossoms with suggestions of sulphides and ginger. The medium-bodied palate lends a pleasant touch of silkiness to the texture, with crisp acid supporting the elegant fruit, and finishing long."
90 Points

Customer Reviews Sign In to Add Your Own

Rating:
(2/27/2013)
Style: Light & Crisp
Enough difference and quality to make it a welcome change from all the other Marlborough SBlancs we've had. And we've had a lot.
Please sign in or create a profile to rate

jaswanth reddy - Washington, DC (read all my reviews)

Rating:
(2/1/2013)
this is new profile
Please sign in or create a profile to rate
Rating:
(6/18/2013)
One of the best
Please sign in or create a profile to rate
Rating:
(10/12/2012)
Style: Rich & Creamy
A lot of life. Complex and interesting Surprising nose, a little stinky you can definitely smell the earth. I agree with Wine Enthusiast that it is full but not too big. As a cocktail it fills the palate, think it would colide a little with spice. It paired nicely in terms of weight with grilled chicken. Would not think I would go that well with with Oysters, something ligher and more acidic. Finish is strong but welcomed.
Please sign in or create a profile to rate
Rating:
(6/27/2013)
Style: Light & Crisp
Good typical sauvignon blanc with grassy and grapefruit notes and a smooth finish.
Please sign in or create a profile to rate

jjl - San Francisco, CA (read all my reviews)

Rating:
(1/25/2013)
Pleasantly surprised. Good value.
Please sign in or create a profile to rate
Rating:
(12/19/2012)
Style: Light & Crisp
Pair with: Chicken > Herbs, Cheese, Veal > Herbs, Cheese > Blue
I am just getting reacquainted with whites and this one was a good one to get started with! Floral and fruity aroma (I don't know where the other reviewer got 'earth'). Dry, not too dry and just the right amount of sweet. Strong pear aroma. I think this would go great with a fruit and cheese plate and I think it would be awesome with blue cheese and pears!
Please sign in or create a profile to rate

debparr - Friendship, WI (read all my reviews)

Rating:
(5/22/2013)
Nice green notes, fairly balanced. Pleasant going down, very drinkable & no complaints, just not outstanding.
Please sign in or create a profile to rate

csc#1 - North Richland Hills, TX (read all my reviews)

Rating:
(1/9/2013)
Style: Fruity & Smooth
I did not enjoy this wine. I paired it with turkey. The grapefruit aroma is too strong, and of course it's the dominant flavor in the wine. If you like grapefruit, you should try this one.
Please sign in or create a profile to rate

CA girl - Mcminnville, OR (read all my reviews)

Rating:
(5/24/2013)
I liked the way this wine tasted but I had a hard time with the bouquet. I put me off with every sip. It was a mix of old barrel and gym socks. I thought maybe it was my sinuses to blame as the seasonal allergies were kicking in, but I went back later to check it out again after my nose calmed down and it smelled just as bad to me. A pity for a good tasting wine.
Please sign in or create a profile to rate

Luisa Stock - Chester Springs, PA (read all my reviews)

Rating:
(6/21/2013)
Please sign in or create a profile to rate
Rating:
(9/21/2012)
Please sign in or create a profile to rate

Lee Calhoon - Brentwood, CA (read all my reviews)

Rating:
(7/20/2012)
Please sign in or create a profile to rate

moviechic77 - Columbus, OH (read all my reviews)

Rating:
(1/15/2013)
Style: Light & Fruity
Pair with: White Fish
Please sign in or create a profile to rate

rfarouni - Columbus, OH (read all my reviews)

Rating:
(3/31/2013)
Please sign in or create a profile to rate
Rating:
(12/30/2012)
Please sign in or create a profile to rate

Learn About Dog Point Vineyard Map ItMap It

The name Dog Point dates from the earliest European settlement of Marlborough and the introduction of sheep to the district. These were days of few fences, of boundary riders and boundary keeping dogs. Shepherds' dogs sometimes became lost or wandered off and eventually bred into a marauding pack which attacked local flocks. Their home was a tussock and scrub covered hill,...

Read More About Dog Point Vineyard

Learn About Other New Zealand

A few other New Zealand areas include the region of Auckland, high up on the North Island, Nelson, sitting to the west of Marlborough, and Canterbury, just under Waipara on the South Island. Most wines in New Zealand will come from a designated area and say so on the label. Notable Facts Auckland was one of the first wine growing regions of the country, but now produces...

Read More About Other New Zealand

Learn About Sauvignon Blanc

Sauvignon Blanc (so-veen-YAWN blahnk) One of the most distinctive grapes, Sauvignon Blanc is a highly aromatic variety that does well in both the old and new world. From the Loire Valley of France to Marlborough in New Zealand, Sauvignon Blanc has found many regions that bring out its unique and delicious flavors. Notable Facts Sauvignon Blanc's home...

Read More About Sauvignon Blanc

YNG668121_2011

About Professional Ratings

close
Please login or create an account to create a wine list.
close
close
New Arrival Alert
Also sign me up for Wine.com emails featuring deals, trends and new arrivals
Your alert has been added!

Remember, you can go to my account > my alerts to view/edit your alerts at any time (or click here if you want to see them now!)
Sign up and Save:

Be the first to know about new arrivals, recently rated wines and special promotions.


Sign up now to receive your welcome offer!

Email Address:
Verify Email Address:
First Name:
Last Name:
Zip Code:
Date of Birth:
(must be over 21)
 


Membership Benefits


  • • Unlimited FREE ground shipping.
  • • Fast & convenient delivery to your door.
  • • Shop with confidence, satisfaction guaranteed.

Ship on us for a month!

Start My Free Trial

After your free trial, StewardShip is just $49/year.

*Some exclusions apply

close popup