SHIP TO
Proceed to Checkout
loading cart
close

We have added the following products to your shopping cart from a previous visit:

Bernardus Chardonnay 2005

Bernardus Chardonnay 2005

Chardonnay from Central Coast, California

Price: $22.99
Item No. 91207
  • WN95
Style: Fruity & Smooth

Wine Style Guide

Light & Crisp

Light to medium bodied wines that are high in acid and light to medium fruit. Typically no oak.

Fruity & Smooth

Light to medium bodied wines with lots of juicy fruit, typically medium acid and medium oak.

Rich & Creamy

Full bodied wines that have typically undergone malo-lactic fermentation and/or spent time in oak.

Ratings Pedigree:
show more

Winemaker's Notes

Number 24 on the Wine.com 100 of 2007!

One of the best values in California Chardonnay that we've seen in a long time.

"Bright yellow hue. Shy scents of peach, brown butter and dusty gravel. Rich, quite ripe, though very taut, flavors of buttery banana, lime and oak spice. Very long close positively gushes with stone fruit and apple notes."
-The Wine News 95 Points

The beautiful weather throughout the critical months of September and October of 2005 provided us with ripe and perfectly balanced fruit. At Bernardus, all our grapes our hand picked and very gently pressed in order to retain their best characteristics.

The resulting wine is a perfect expression of Monterey Chardonnay, with bright citrus and tropical fruit aromas married with mineral notes and subtle toasty oak nuances. The lush, opulent palate is intense and focused with complex flavors of ripe pineapple, lime, mineral notes, and crème brulèe lingering on a long, creamy finish.

Customer Reviews Sign In to Add Your Own

Ben - Marina Del Rey, CA (read all my reviews)

Rating:
(9/28/2010)
A snifter of this fine nectar will send even the most refined palate on a taste extravaganza!
Please sign in or create a profile to rate

Christopher Voigt - San Francisco, CA (read all my reviews)

Rating:
(9/18/2010)
nothing special here. This tasted like an ordinary california chardonney to me. Very little (or no) oak, which is a plus. I found it overrated.
Please sign in or create a profile to rate
Rating:
(9/25/2010)
This Bernardus Chardonnay is so good. Value for money, we can't go pass this one. It is our go to on most nights and we are constantly impressed with how good it is.
Please sign in or create a profile to rate
Rating:
(9/29/2010)
This is an excellent wine. Very well balanced and appealing. Our guests, who drink Chardonnay quite frequently, thought this wine was superb.
Please sign in or create a profile to rate
Rating:
(9/25/2010)
this wine was OK but nothing great. i was disappointed. Tasted "flat", not very complex or rich. Not perfect, yet not bad either.
Please sign in or create a profile to rate

LT - Princeton, TX (read all my reviews)

Rating:
(9/25/2010)
Deserves it's high ratings. Very complex nose and flavor.
Please sign in or create a profile to rate
Rating:
(9/26/2010)
Great wine. Bone dry with flint.
Please sign in or create a profile to rate

Jeff Smith - Saint Louis, MO (read all my reviews)

Rating:
(9/29/2010)
Oak and butter and compexity. This has become my "house" Chard. Not a fan of unoaked chards, so you gotta love butter. If you do, go for a bottle or two. It won't rock your world, but you'd be hard pressed to gather the muster to spit this one out at a tasting.
Please sign in or create a profile to rate

John Sp - Braintree, MA (read all my reviews)

Rating:
(9/29/2010)
Very good oaky Chard for the price
Please sign in or create a profile to rate

TLW - Medford, OR (read all my reviews)

Rating:
(9/28/2010)
Vanilla nose with a hint of citrus, golden colored but not fruity. Dry taste with acidic fine finish. Excellent paring for cheese and a light pasta in a butter and wine sauce. Brought out the flavor of seafood as well as cheese, chocolate, and pasta. Best chardonnay of the year for me so far.
Please sign in or create a profile to rate

Christine Tremblay - Woodland Hills, CA (read all my reviews)

Rating:
(9/21/2010)
Not spectacular but nice house wine if on sale
Please sign in or create a profile to rate
Rating:
(9/27/2010)
Very disappointing. For a mid- priced chardonnay it was singularly unimpressive. No depth or complexity, and no finish whatsoever.
Please sign in or create a profile to rate

Reneckl - Dayton, OH (read all my reviews)

Rating:
(9/17/2010)
expected much ... didn't deliver.
Please sign in or create a profile to rate

Learn About Bernardus Map ItMap It

Bernardus Winery was founded in 1990 in the Carmel Valley. Ben Pon's goal is to make red wines comparable to those of Bordeaux. To this end, he selected a mountain site in the Carmel Valley appellation to plant his Marinus Estate Vineyard. This site was chosen because of its unique joining of varied soils and sunny inland climate moderated by a marine influence - ideal conditions for the production of Bordeaux varietals.

Learn About Central Coast

The largest of California's wine growing regions, the Central Coast produces the majority of California's wine. The district sprawls out, covering most of the vineyard land between San Francisco and Santa Barbara. Smaller sub-AVAs of the Central Coast include Monterey Bay, Paso Robles, Santa Ynez Valley, Santa Maria Valley, Santa Cruz Mountains and many others. Notable Facts...

Read More About Central Coast

Learn About Chardonnay

Chardonnay (shar-dawn-AY) White Wine's Queen Bee Like Cabernet Sauvignon, Chardonnay can grow just about anywhere. It adapts well to different soils and different climates. While frequently paired with California, its native home lies in the vineyards of Burgundy, France. The only major white grape of the region, Chardonnay is at its best on the rolling...

Read More About Chardonnay

CWW18834F_2005

About Professional Ratings

close
Please login or create an account to create a wine list.
close
close
New Arrival Alert
Also sign me up for Wine.com emails featuring deals, trends and new arrivals
Your alert has been added!

Remember, you can go to my account > my alerts to view/edit your alerts at any time (or click here if you want to see them now!)
Sign up and Save:

Be the first to know about new arrivals, recently rated wines and special promotions.


Sign up now to receive your welcome offer!

Email Address:
Verify Email Address:
First Name:
Last Name:
Zip Code:
Date of Birth:
(must be over 21)
 


Membership Benefits


  • • Unlimited FREE ground shipping.
  • • Fast & convenient delivery to your door.
  • • Shop with confidence, satisfaction guaranteed.

Ship on us for a month!

Start My Free Trial

After your free trial, Steward-Ship is just $49/year.

*Some exclusions apply

close popup