Angove Family Winemakers Red Belly Black Chardonnay 2006

Chardonnay from South Australia, Australia

$12.99
Item No. 97675
  • white wine
  • screw cap wine
  • JH92
Style: Rich & Creamy

Wine Style Guide

Light & Crisp

Light to medium bodied wines that are high in acid and light to medium fruit. Typically no oak.

Fruity & Smooth

Light to medium bodied wines with lots of juicy fruit, typically medium acid and medium oak.

Rich & Creamy

Full bodied wines that have typically undergone malo-lactic fermentation and/or spent time in oak.

Winemaker's Notes

This wine is bright pale straw in color with green hints, and shows abundant white peach and citrus on the nose. The palate is soft and luscious with nectarine and lemon flavors being supported by spicy vanillin oak.

Critical Acclaim

"An attractive wine, with good finesse and focus to the melon and nectarine fruit; good oak integration."
92 Points

Customer Reviews Sign In to Add Your Own

Rating:
(9/17/2010)
great, smooth chardonnay, not much oak. Disappointed it is not longer available.
Please sign in or create a profile to rate
Rating:
(9/27/2010)
Great while great value and very nice everyday wine
Please sign in or create a profile to rate

Pepperblue - Missouri City, TX (read all my reviews)

Rating:
(9/17/2010)
Very nice table wine.
Please sign in or create a profile to rate
Rating:
(9/17/2010)
I encourage anyone to try this wine to anyone who likes a light snack of cheese and crackers. mild cheddar. fabulous
Please sign in or create a profile to rate
Rating:
(9/29/2010)
Wonderful . . . light actually, very tasty on the palate!
Please sign in or create a profile to rate
Rating:
(9/25/2010)
great flavor and balance.tasted just how a chardonnay should.
Please sign in or create a profile to rate

Greg Miller - Columbus, OH (read all my reviews)

Rating:
(9/27/2010)
This is a very nice wine for the price. I bought another bottle of this immediately after trying. I normally tend to prefer red wines but this is a very good white.
Please sign in or create a profile to rate
Rating:
(9/27/2010)
This is a great Chardonnay for the money.
Please sign in or create a profile to rate
Rating:
(9/27/2010)
For 7.99 this is a rich silky wine, a real find for the price. Melon flavors, buttery finish.
Please sign in or create a profile to rate

pjz0001 - The Colony, TX (read all my reviews)

Rating:
(9/27/2010)
We purchased this bottle of wine because it was on special and it really turned out quite to be a nice surprise. Very light character, but it wasn't as dry as other Chardonnays like we've had. It was a great wine to have around for sipping. Its not something you'd serve like at a dinner party but it was a nice wine to have just to have after a long day at work.
Please sign in or create a profile to rate

dawoodsy - Forsyth, MO (read all my reviews)

Rating:
(9/27/2010)
Not for my taste, somewhat bitter, overpowering
Please sign in or create a profile to rate
Rating:
(9/28/2010)
I goofed below - I meant a Sauvignon Blanc, not a Cabernet Sauvignon! - Oops!
Please sign in or create a profile to rate
Rating:
(9/25/2010)
I was surprised how much this tasted like a Cabernet Sauvignon. Nice clean taste but a bit dry for a Chardonnay
Please sign in or create a profile to rate
Rating:
(9/17/2010)
I was suprised how much this tasted like a Cabernet Sauvignon. Nice clean taste but a bit dry for a Chardonnay
Please sign in or create a profile to rate

jeff b - Southampton, PA (read all my reviews)

Rating:
(2/9/2012)
Excellent value for a chard. Not much oak...very refreshing. And to the last person who commented...Wine.com does denote it IS a screw cap wine as MOST Australian wines are going to the screw cap! Eventually, MOST wines will go to synthetic and then to screw cap in time for spoilage reasons. Do your homework next time before spouting off!
Please sign in or create a profile to rate

Kent - Ballwin, MO (read all my reviews)

Rating:
(9/28/2010)
Too acidic for my taste and somewhat bitter with ho-hum flavor.
Please sign in or create a profile to rate

Learn About Angove Family Winemakers Map ItMap It

The Angove family company, Angove's Pty. Ltd., ranks among Australia's largest privately owned wine companies and stands as one of the few with strong interests in distilling as well as grape growing and winemaking.His early experimentation with vines, winemaking and distilling, led to the establishment of a proud family business. Dr. Angove's initial plantings at the township of...

Read More About Angove Family Winemakers

Learn About South Australia

The majority of wines from Australia come from this state. Home to the red wine regions of McLaren Vale, Coonawarra and Barossa Valley, South Australia produces some of the finest red wines of the country, and some say in the world. White wines gain their reputation from the distinctive Rieslings of Clare Valley.

Learn About Chardonnay

Chardonnay (shar-dawn-AY) White Wine's Queen Bee Like Cabernet Sauvignon, Chardonnay can grow just about anywhere. It adapts well to different soils and different climates. While frequently paired with California, its native home lies in the vineyards of Burgundy, France. The only major white grape of the region, Chardonnay is at its best on the rolling...

Read More About Chardonnay

Related Products
The 2013 Angove Family Crest Chardonnay is pale yellow with green hues. Aromas of white peach, lemon peel and smoky ...
CAR740098_2006
close
Please login or create an account to create a wine list.
close
close
New Arrival Alert
Also sign me up for Wine.com emails featuring deals, trends and new arrivals
Your alert has been added!

Remember, you can go to my account > my alerts to view/edit your alerts at any time (or click here if you want to see them now!)

Membership Benefits


  • • Unlimited FREE ground shipping.
  • • Fast & convenient delivery to your door.
  • • Shop with confidence, satisfaction guaranteed.

Ship on us for a month!

Start My Free Trial

After your free trial, StewardShip is just $49/year.

*Some exclusions apply

close popup